Football Fans: Can someone tell me?

How a Quarterback can Spike the ball to "Stop the Clock" & not get a flag?

But if Over/Under Throws he gets a Flag

2 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    11 months ago
    Favourite answer

    Under the Intentional grounding rules, it allows the QB to spike the ball without getting a penalty as long as he does it immediately, if he takes a few steps back and waits or something and then spikes it it will be intentional grounding.

    As for getting a penalty for under overthrowing, that's only when he is throwing the ball away to avoid a sack or losing yards and while in the pocket, that would be intentional grounding, he has to throw it near a receiver for it not to be intentional grounding.

  • 11 months ago

    Because that is specifically allowed by the rules while throwing away the ball to avoid a sack is disallowed unless the QB is out of the pocket or there's a receiver in the area.

Still have questions? Get answers by asking now.