Can a player get the Man of the Match just for his fielding? Had it happened ever in the History of Cricket?

Can a player be adjudged the Man of the Match just because he won the match because of his brilliance in the field? Like a few brilliant catches, and mind blowing run outs? Has it ever happened in the History of World Cricket?

12 Answers

Relevance
  • Favorite Answer

    If we observe the man of the match awards, it is awarded to either a player a batsman who top scored or a bowler how picked most wickets. But there are occasions where fielding performance considered for MoM.

    1. AL Logie (3 catches, 2 runouts, Did not bat, Did not bowl)

    A brilliant display of fielding by Logie supported West Indies' bowlers as Pakistan were dismissed for 143. In addition to his three catches, Logie effected both run-outs, the first accounting for Miandad just as he and Ramiz were threatening to establish Pakistan's innings

    Match: - http://www.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/match/65836....

    2. IVA Richards (3 catches, Did not bat, 4-0-21-0)

    DL Haynes - 64(100 balls), RB Richardson - 58*(110 balls) helped chasing 166 runs. Except IVA Richards all bowlers able to pickup a wicket. But the man of the match awarded to IVA Richards just because of his fielding.

    Match: - http://www.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/match/65931....

    3. Jonty Rhodes (5 catches, 40 runs, Did not bowl)

    DJ Cullinan scored 70(retired hurt) but MoM awarded to Jonty Rhodes (scored 40 runs) just because of his fielding. His athleticism secured five catches, a record for a fielder in one-day internationals.

    Cricinfo : "A wicketkeeper might be lucky enough to receive three or four "regulation" catches in the course of an innings, but any more than that will inevitably include a couple of classic grabs. For an outfielder to take five catches in an innings involves a skill so special, it remains a unique record almost a decade and a half after Jonty Rhodes set it."

    Match: - http://www.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/match/65964....

    Nice article (Rhodes takes five) - http://www.espncricinfo.com/magazine/content/story...

    Source(s): 1st one is purely for fielding effort, because he didn't batted & bowled in that match.
    • Log in to reply to the answers
  • 8 years ago

    Yes, it is possible.it has even happened once. I remember Rohit Sharma had got a man of the match award for his brilliance in the field in the IPL2010 or 2011,when he had taken 3 sensational catches.

    • Log in to reply to the answers
  • Anonymous
    8 years ago

    Such things usually only happen in low scoring matches, or matches reduced to a small number of overs, like this match from 1992 when Mark Taylor got MOM for taking 4 catches

    http://www.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/match/65495....

    • Log in to reply to the answers
  • 8 years ago

    For fielding the only thing which is being quantified is the number of catches ,the number of runs saved is not quantified as it cannot be read directly from scoreboard and yes based on the number of catches 'man of the match ' has been given though I do not have the statistics,(future readers -can someone give a few examples for this please).

    • Log in to reply to the answers
  • What do you think of the answers? You can sign in to give your opinion on the answer.
  • 8 years ago

    Nothing would be in the rules to say it couldn't happen, but realistically it would never happen, that is why Jadeja is likely to retire at international level with no more than a couple of man of the match awards even if he played for the next 20 years.

    Nobody could tell you (other than the person who voted the man of the match) if a person was voted that way for anything. The only way I could see it ever happening would be if both team had every one of its team bowl, then one player got about 8 catches and the bowlers only got 1 wicket each.

    • Log in to reply to the answers
  • 3 years ago

    Www.espncricinfo.com Player

    • Log in to reply to the answers
  • 8 years ago

    West Indian Gus Logie, who did not bat or bowl in the match against Pakistan at Sharjah on 28-11-1986, was awarded the man of the match award for his three brilliant catches.

    edit http://www.espncricinfo.com/westindies/content/pla...

    • Log in to reply to the answers
  • 8 years ago

    Never Never Ever....... Fielding is never considered as MOM bCOZ there are more Batsmen and Bowlers than fielders.

    • Log in to reply to the answers
  • 8 years ago

    no mostly batsmans are man of the match

    • Log in to reply to the answers
  • Anonymous
    8 years ago

    There you are! Madmax has found one.Good work Madmax!

    • Log in to reply to the answers
Still have questions? Get answers by asking now.