What is the TOTAL length of the Alps?

I'm doing a science worksheet and it asks for the Length of the mountain range the "Alps."

Please, help me out.

2 Answers

  • 1 decade ago
    Favourite answer

    Hope this will help

    Alps, great mountain system of south central Europe, forming an arc some 1200 km (750 mi) long from the Gulf of Genoa to the Danube River at Vienna. The Alps are the highest and most densely settled mountain belt of Europe, occupying an area of about 200,000 sq km (about 80,000 sq mi)

    Source(s): encarta.msn.com/encyclopedia_761562121/Alps.html
  • 1 decade ago

    The Alps (German: Alpen; French: Alpes; Italian: Alpi; Slovenian: Alpe) is the name for one of the great mountain range systems of Europe, stretching from Austria and Slovenia in the east, through Italy, Switzerland, Liechtenstein and Germany to France in the west. The word "Alps" was taken via French from Latin Alpes (meaning "the Alps"), which may be influenced by the Latin words albus (white) or altus (high), or a Celtic word.

    The highest mountain in the Alps is Mont Blanc at 4,808 metres (15,774 ft) on the French-Italian border. All the main peaks of the Alps can be found in the list of mountains of the Alps and list of Alpine peaks by prominence.


    The Alps with international borders marked Großglockner, south of Salzburg, AustriaThe Alps are generally divided into the Western Alps and the Eastern Alps. The division is along the line between Lake Constance and Lake Como, following the Rhine. The Western Alps are higher, but their central chain is shorter and curved; they are located in Italy, France and Switzerland. The Eastern Alps (main ridge system elongated and broad) belong to Austria, Germany, Italy, Liechtenstein, Slovenia and Switzerland. The highest peak of the Western Alps is Mont Blanc, 4,808 metres (15,774 ft). The highest peak in the Eastern Alps is Piz Bernina, 4,052 meters (13,294 ft).

    The Eastern Alps are commonly subdivided according to the different lithology (rock composition) of the more central parts of the Alps and the groups at its northern and southern fringes:

    Flysch zone (from the Wienerwald to Bregenzerwald). Geographically, the Jura mountains do not belong to the Alps; geologically, however, they do.

    Northern Limestone Alps, peaks up to 3,000 metres (9,850 ft)

    Central Eastern Alps (Austria, Switzerland), peaks up to 4,050 metres (13,290 ft)

    Southern Limestone Alps.

    The border between the Central Alps and the Southern Limestone Alps is the Periadriatic Seam. The Northern Limestone Alps are separated from the Central Eastern Alps by the Grauwacken Zone.

    The Italian Alps as seen from the airThe Western Alps are commonly subdivided with respect to geography:

    Ligurian Alps

    Maritime Alps

    Cottian Alps

    Dauphiné Alps

    Graian Alps

    Pennine Alps

    Bernese Alps

    Lepontine Alps

    Glarus Alps

    North-Eastern Swiss Alps.

    Series of lower mountain ranges run parallel to the main chain of the Alps, including the French Prealps. (See Alpine geography.)

    The geologic subdivision is different and makes no difference between the Western and Eastern Alps: Helveticum in the north, Penninicum and Austroalpine system in the centre and south of the Periadriatic seam the Southern Alpine system and parts of the Dinarides (see Alpine Geology).

    Main chain

    Main article: Main chain of the Alps

    The European Alps from space in 2002.The "main chain of the Alps" follows the watershed from the Mediterranean Sea to the Wienerwald, passing over many of the highest and most famous peaks in the Alps. From the Colle di Cadibona to Col de Tende it runs westwards, before turning to the north-west and then, near the Colle della Maddalena, to the north. Upon reaching the Swiss border, the line of the main chain heads approximately east-north-east, a heading it follows until its end near Vienna.

    Principal passes

    Main article: Principal passes of the Alps

    The Alps do not form an impassable barrier; they have been traversed for war and commerce, and later by pilgrims, students and tourists. Crossing places by road, train or foot are called passes, these are depressions in the mountains to which a valley leads from the plains and hilly pre-mountainous zones

    The Alps are a mountain system located in south-central Europe, to the immediate north of the Mediterranean Sea. They extend for almost 700 miles in a crescent shape from the coastline of southern France (near Monaco) into Switzerland, then through northern Italy and into Austria, and down through Slovenia, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Serbia and Montenegro - then ending in Albania on the rugged coastline of the Adriatic Sea.

    The highest point is Mont Blanc at 15,771 ft. (4,807m)

Still have questions? Get answers by asking now.